Jump to Navigation
Phone: 410-377-2966         Hours: Mon–Fri: 10am–7pm, Sat: 10am–6pm, Sun: 11am–5pm

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Something in the Water (Hardcover)

Something in the Water Cover Image
$27.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut--for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.

"A psychological thriller that captivated me from page one. What unfolds makes for a wild, page-turning ride It's the perfect beach read "--Reese Witherspoon (Reese's Book Club x Hello Sunshine book pick)

If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you?

Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .

Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?

Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .

Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?

Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman's enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we're tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves.

Praise for Something in the Water

"Arresting . . . deftly paced, elegantly chilly . . . Catherine] Steadman brings . . . wit, timing and intelligence to this novel. . . . Something in the Water is a proper page-turner."--The New York Times

"With unreliable characters, wry voices, exquisite pacing, and a twisting plot, Steadman potently draws upon her acting chops. . . . A darkly glittering gem of a thriller from a new writer to watch."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Captivating . . . daring . . . The threats and increasingly bad decisions accelerate with Bourne-like velocity. . . . Steadman is] a newcomer worth watching."--Publishers Weekly

"An unbearably tense debut with a knockout premise, Something in the Water had me hooked from the very first sentence. Thrilling and thought-provoking, it's the perfect beach read. I devoured it "--Riley Sager, New York Times bestselling author of Final Girls

About the Author


Catherine Steadman is an actress and writer based in North London, UK. She has appeared in leading roles on British television as well as on stage in the West End. In 2016 she was nominated for a Laurence Olivier Award for Best Actress in a Supporting Role for her performance in Oppenheimer. She is best known in the United States for her role as Mabel Lane Fox in Downton Abbey. She grew up in the New Forest, UK, and lives with a small dog and an average-sized man. Something in the Water is her first novel.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781524797188
ISBN-10: 1524797189
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Publication Date: June 5th, 2018
Pages: 352
Language: English

by Dr. Radut