Jump to Navigation
Phone: 410-377-2966  

Shopping cart

For the most up-to-date stock information, please email us at info@theivybookshop.com

The Amazing Life of Mary, Queen of Scots: Fact-Tastic Stories from Scotland's History (Paperback)

The Amazing Life of Mary, Queen of Scots: Fact-Tastic Stories from Scotland's History By Gill Arbuthnott, Mike Phillips (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Gill Arbuthnott, Mike Phillips (Illustrator)
Special Order


This unique blend of fact and fiction brings Mary, Queen of Scots to life for young readers.

She was Queen of Scotland and of France, and a possible Queen of England; she was involved in a series of mysterious deaths; in the end she lost her head... But what was life really like for Mary, Queen of Scots?

Put on your ruff and step into the 16th century for a unique glimpse into the dramatic life of the infamous queen. Mary's story is told from the perspective of her young servant Alec, keeper of her animals. Each easy-to-read chapter mixes the involving history of the queen's life with timelines, charts and revealing illustrations to create a Fact-tastic account that is both fun and emotionally engaging for younger readers.

Take a journey through time and find out:

  • How did Mary become Queen of Scots when she was just six days old?
  • What exotic animals lived with the young queen?
  • How did Mary escape from Lochleven Castle?
  • Why did Mary's cousin, Queen Elizabeth I, arrange her beheading?

The Amazing Life of Mary, Queen of Scots continues the brilliant Fact-tastic series, which blends intriguing facts and fascinating fiction to bring the most exciting, gruesome and crucial moments of Scottish history alive for young readers.

About the Author

Gill Arbuthnott is the author of numerous fiction, non-fiction and picture books for children and young adults and has been nominated for a number of major UK book awards. A former biology teacher, Gill has written many non-fiction books to engage children with science. Her books include A Secret Diary of the First World War, Chaos Clock, Winterbringers, The Giant Panda Party and What Makes You You? Gill lives in Edinburgh with her family and Leonard the cat. Mike Phillips is the illustrator of many children's books including the Museum Mystery Squad series, Horrible Histories: Gruesome Guides and the Horrible Geography series.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781782506683
ISBN-10: 1782506683
Publisher: Kelpies
Publication Date: May 31st, 2022
Pages: 136
Language: English

by Dr. Radut