Jump to Navigation
Phone: 410-377-2966  

Shopping cart

For the most up-to-date stock information, please email us at info@theivybookshop.com

The Expedition of Humphry Clinker (Evergreens) (Paperback)

The Expedition of Humphry Clinker (Evergreens) By Tobias Smollett Cover Image
Special Order


Presented through an ingeniously overlapping and intertwining series of letters written by six very different characters, The Expedition of Humphry Clinker is the story of Squire Matthew Bramble and his family's journey across England and Scotland. From the gouty hypochondriac squire eager to take the waters in various spa towns to his malapropistic sister Tabitha, who is keenly looking for a husband, the characters recount their own experiences, desires and particular version of events, and in doing so introduce the reader to the extraordinary exploits of the ostler Humphry Clinker.

Full of decadence, drunkenness and debauchery, and littered with double entendres, bawdy puns and scatological references, The Expedition of Humphry Clinker, published only a few months before Smollett's death, is a biting and sharply observed satire of the luxury and licentiousness of eighteenth-century society.

About the Author

Tobias Smollett (1721–71) was a Scottish poet and novelist famed for his picaresque novels The Adventures of Roderick Random, The Adventures of Peregrine Pickle and The Expedition of Humphry Clinker.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781847498083
ISBN-10: 1847498086
Publisher: Alma Classics
Publication Date: June 30th, 2020
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Evergreens

by Dr. Radut