Jump to Navigation
Phone: 410-377-2966  

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Event Details

Susan Shreve: More News Tomorrow

The Ivy Bookshop

The Ivy Bookshop welcomes Susan Shreve to talk about her family drama More News Tomorrow.

On the morning of her seventieth birthday, Georgiana Grove receives an unexpected letter that calls her back from her home in Washington, DC to Missing Lake, Wisconsin, where her mother was murdered sixty-six years earlier. Georgie’s father had confessed to the murder the next morning and was carted off to a state penitentiary. Haunted by the crime that took both her parents away and determined to unearth the truth, Georgie takes her reluctant family on what will become a dangerous canoe trip up the swollen Bone River to return to Missing Lake. Shreve’s narrative weaves together two time periods—June 2008, when the possibility of a black president was a sign of optimism, and June 1941, when racism and anti-Semitism were rampant. Georgie must untangle the prejudices of the past in order to understand what happened to her parents.

For readers of Anne Tyler and Sue Miller, More News Tomorrow  is an immersive portrait of family secrets, and how race, loss, and history can derail a family.

Susan Richards Shreve is the author of fifteen previous novels, a memoir, and thirty books for children. She is a former president and present co-chairman of the PEN/Faulkner Foundation. A Guggenheim Award recipient, she lives in Washington, DC.

 

 

 

 

 

Event Details

TIME & DATE
Monday, June 3, 2019 - 7:00pm

LOCATION

The Ivy Bookshop
6080 Falls Rd.
Baltimore, MD 21209


by Dr. Radut