Jump to Navigation
Phone: 410-377-2966         Hours: Mon–Fri: 10am–7pm, Sat: 10am–6pm, Sun: 11am–5pm

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Now I Rise (Hardcover)

Now I Rise Cover Image
$18.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


The highly anticipated, mind-blowing New York Times bestselling sequel to Kiersten White's New York Times bestseller, AND I DARKEN--the series that reads like HBO's Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Fans of Victoria Aveyard's THE RED QUEEN and Sabaa Tahir's A TORCH AGAINST THE NIGHT won't want to miss this riveting and gorgeously written novel--the second in the And I Darken series.

Lada Dracul has no allies. No throne. All she has is what she's always had: herself. After failing to secure the Wallachian throne, Lada is out to punish anyone who dares to cross her blood-strewn path. Filled with a white-hot rage, she storms the countryside with her men, accompanied by her childhood friend Bogdan, terrorizing the land. But brute force isn't getting Lada what she wants. And thinking of Mehmed brings little comfort to her thorny heart. There's no time to wonder whether he still thinks about her, even loves her. She left him before he could leave her.

What Lada needs is her younger brother Radu's subtlety and skill. But Mehmed has sent him to Constantinople--and it's no diplomatic mission. Mehmed wants control of the city, and Radu has earned an unwanted place as a double-crossing spy behind enemy lines Radu longs for his sister's fierce confidence--but for the first time in his life, he rejects her unexpected plea for help. Torn between loyalties to faith, to the Ottomans, and to Mehmed, he knows he owes Lada nothing. If she dies, he could never forgive himself--but if he fails in Constantinople, will Mehmed ever forgive him?

As nations fall around them, the Dracul siblings must decide: what will they sacrifice to fulfill their destinies? Empires will topple, thrones will be won . . . and souls will be lost.


"Gorgeous, rich, and rewarding."--Booklist, starred review

★ "Absolutely devastating in the best way."--Kirkus, starred review

"A+, 5 knives."--Amie Kaufman, New York Times bestselling co-author of the STARBOUND and ILLUMINAE FILES trilogies

"Fierce, epic, and crazy fun."--Melissa Albert, author of THE HAZEL WOOD

"Kiersten White is a genius."--Justine Larbalestier, author of MY SISTER ROSA and LIAR


Praise for And I Darken

"A dark jewel of a story, one that gleams with fierce, cunning characters--absolutely riveting." --Alexandra Bracken, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Passenger

"A dark, gritty, and seriously badass epic that will have you dying for more . . . required reading for every feminist fantasy fan." --BuzzFeed

"Evocative . . . this book takes no prisoners." --NPR

About the Author


KIERSTEN WHITE is the New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken, Now I Rise, the Paranormalcy trilogy, the dark thrillers Mind Games and Perfect Lies, The Chaos of Stars, Illusions of Fate, and In the Shadows with Jim Di Bartolo. Her books have won several awards, including the Utah Book Award, the Evergreen Young Adult Book Award, and the Whitney Award, and have been named an ALA-YALSA Teen Top Ten Best Book, a Florida Teens Read Selection, and a Texas Lone Star Reading List Selection, among other accolades. She lives with her family near the ocean in San Diego, which, in spite of its perfection, spurs her to dream of faraway places and even further away times. kierstenwhite.com @kierstenwhite on Twitter
Product Details
ISBN: 9780553522358
ISBN-10: 0553522353
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: June 27th, 2017
Pages: 480
Language: English
Series: And I Darken

by Dr. Radut