Jump to Navigation
Phone: 410-377-2966  

Shopping cart

Infestation (Whispering Pines) (Hardcover)

Infestation (Whispering Pines) Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now (but could be on hold for another customer)
On hand as of Oct 21 2:03am
(CHILDREN'S MIDDLE READER)

Description


In this creeptastic sequel to the Whispering Pines, Rae and Caden take on flesh-eating centipedes that may be alien in nature—perfect for fans of Stranger Things!

Caden’s brother Aiden is many things: clever, powerful, vindictive. Unforgiving. And now, he’s also mysteriously free from the hellish dimensional prison that Caden had trapped him in. Caden is sure that Aiden is out for revenge, but since his parents refuse to see the danger when it comes to his brother, he’ll have to find a way to survive on his own.

Meanwhile, Rae, freed from the threat of the eye-snatching, monstrous Unseeing, has once again turned all her focus toward finding her missing father. She believes the town’s shady alternative energy company, Green On!, might have the information she seeks, so she joins their internship program to get answers. Unfortunately, this means sacrificing her friendship with Caden, who wants nothing to do with Green On! or anyone associated with it.

When a special assignment from Rae’s internship leads her to uncover an infestation of giant, flesh-eating centipedes that may be alien in nature, she needs to convince Caden to help her get rid of them. The two friends must learn to work together again, because this time, it’s not just Whispering Pines’ fate that hangs in the balance, but the world’s.

About the Author


Heidi Lang managed to stumble upon the two best jobs in the world: writing for kids and walking dogs. If she’s not out on the trails surrounded by wagging tails and puppy kisses, she’s probably hunched over her laptop working on her next book. She lives in northern California with her husband and two adventure-loving dogs, and she is the coauthor of the Mystic Cooking Chronicles and Whispering Pines series and author of Out of Range. Find her on Twitter @HidLang or visit the website she shares with her writing partner at HeidiandKatiBooks.com.

Kati Bartkowski was originally drawn to illustration before she got swept up in the world of words. Nowadays she’s a fan of creating fantastical creatures and feisty heroines in both mediums. If she’s not reading, writing, or drawing, she’s probably chasing after her high energy little girl. She lives in northern California and is the coauthor of the Mystic Cooking Chronicles and Whispering Pines series. Find her on Twitter @KTBartkowski or visit the website she shares with her writing partner at HeidiandKatiBooks.com.

Praise For…


PRAISE FOR WHISPERING PINES:

“A thrilling novel perfect for fans of Stranger Things and stories filled with mystery and suspense.” – Booklist, starred review

“Perfect for reading under a blanket with a flashlight.” – Kirkus Reviews 

“Like ‘Goosebumps,’ but for an older audience, this book seems custom made for kids who like a good scare.” – School Library Journal 

“Delightful mash-up of science fiction, ghost stories, and horror.” – BCCB 

“An unpredictable, unrelenting adventure.” – Publishers Weekly 

Following Whispering Pines (2020), the kids dig deeper into the town’s mysteries.

A prologue reintroduces readers to the town of Whispering Pines and its dangerous Watchful Woods and gives a preview of a new threat. Rae has diverged from empath Caden (he wants nothing to do with Green On! or senior consultant Patrick), accepting Patrick’s internship offer as he teases her with information about her missing father’s whereabouts. The seven interns—some familiar faces, some new—have hardly started their tour of Green On! when things get alarming. Soon, they’re divided into teams and tasked with uncovering—and solving—a mystery. Rae’s team accidentally falls right into a creepy-crawly scenario sure to give readers the willies. Meanwhile, Caden struggles with his family’s changing dynamics in the aftermath of his brother’s actions. The nonchalant attitude that the residents, both kids and adults, take toward all of the weirdness is endearing. The gross-out elements manage to push gore and violence into ooey-gooey territory, giving a slight distance between the disgustingness (that’s absolutely reveled in) and realism. Just as compelling as the supernatural storylines are the interpersonal ones, with conflicts rooted in the complex nature of family and friendships. The elements all meld together into a world that’s easy to get lost in. Most characters default to White, though some side characters have surnames that point to other ethnicities.

Will leave readers screaming for the next installment. 
— Kirkus Reviews, STARRED
Product Details
ISBN: 9781534460508
ISBN-10: 1534460500
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication Date: September 14th, 2021
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: Whispering Pines

by Dr. Radut