Jump to Navigation
Phone: 410-377-2966  

Shopping cart

For the most up-to-date stock information, please email us at info@theivybookshop.com

Duplicity (A Brick Kavanagh Mystery #2) (Paperback)

Duplicity (A Brick Kavanagh Mystery #2) By Shawn Wilson Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 3 - 6 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the A Brick Kavanagh Mystery series.

Description


This was not the homecoming Brick envisioned

After the trauma of his last case, and after three months spent recovering in Ireland, life is looking up for newly retired homicide detective Brian (Brick) Kavanagh. Back home in Washington, D.C., a new job shows promise when he’s asked to train criminology students in cold case techniques.

Then he’s off to a whirlwind weekend in Chicago with Nora, an Aer Lingus flight attendant he’d met in Ireland. There he receives shocking news that his former partner’s wife and twin infants have been kidnapped. Brick rushes to D.C. to support Ron, the man who’s always had his back—but as days pass, Brick questions how well he really knows this man.

Brick’s cold case—the unsolved hit-and-run death of a college student—is heating up. Brick finds gaping holes in the original investigation. Is it possible diplomatic immunity granted someone a “get-out-of-jail-free card”?

Meanwhile, Ron’s family tragedy unfolds in a most bizarre manner, and the escalating cold case points to D.C. corruption at the highest level. Things are getting complicated . . . very complicated . . . and dangerous.

Duplicity is perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and Robert Crais

While the novels in the Brick Kavanagh Mystery series stand on their own and can be read in any order, the publication sequence is:

Relentless
Duplicity

About the Author


Shawn Wilson (a pen name) is a produced playwright and author of the Brick Kavanagh Mystery series. Duplicity is her second novel following Relentless, the first of the series. She was born and raised in New York’s Hudson Valley and attended Averett College in Danville, Virginia, before moving to the Washington, D.C., area. She earned a Bachelor of Science Degree in Administration of Justice from American University and has worked for the U.S. Marshals Service, the U.S. Attorney’s Office, the Federal Bureau of Prisons, and the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts. Shawn has traveled on five continents but is very happy to call Chicago home, enjoying the beauty of Lake Michigan.

Praise For…


Praise for the Brick Kavanagh Mystery Series

* “One doesn’t have to be a mystery fan to relish this.” —Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

“Could not put it down! A terrific plot, yes, and wonderful settings—but the star of Duplicity is the endearing Brick Kavanagh. He’s the perfect and reassuring hero for our times—with honor and heart, with a gripping background and a complex personal life, but bottom line, he’s a truly good guy. When Kavanagh is on the case, you’re in for an engrossing and entertaining read.” —Hank Phillippi Ryan, USA Today best-selling author

Duplicity is a compelling read with depth and a protagonist you’ll want to spend more time with. I’ll be first in line to see what’s next for Brick Kavanagh!” —David Putnam, best-selling author

Duplicity is a delightful, twisty thriller featuring a hero it’s impossible not to love. Brick Kavanagh is a white knight trying to rescue the missing wife and children of his ex-partner in the D.C. police force, and I raced through the pages ‘til three a.m. rooting for him to succeed.” —Matt Witten, author of The Necklace

“Wilson's Relentless lives up to its title and will keep you turning pages throughout the twisting mystery and final reveal. A gritty and engrossing tale that introduces Brick Kavanagh, a detective who’s as smart as he is battle worn, and who takes his place among the best detectives in fiction.” —Jamie Freveletti, best-selling author

“The action is top-notch . . . Wilson does a good job whipping up some mysterious murders.” —Booklist

“A police procedural steeped in knowledge about the area’s culture, Duplicity is a welcome addition to the growing Washington, D.C. fiction canon. The tension is accompanied with moments of heartbreak and relief, and skillfully plotted twists that will keep the most ardent mystery fans guessing. Crime fiction fans are going to want to read more stories about Brick Kavanagh.” —E.A. Aymar, author of They’re Gone

“In Relentless, fans of Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch will find a new hero in Brian Kavanagh, a detective with more brains than brawn who personifies the term “relentless.” Throw in cherry blossom season in Washington, D.C. and you have the perfect mystery read.” —Patricia Gussin, New York Times best-selling author

“Shawn Wilson takes readers on a roller coaster ride with twists and turns and a completely unexpected final destination in Relentless.” —Matt Coyle, Anthony-award winning author

“Shawn Wilson’s novel, [Relentless] brings a crafty, engaging new detective to the mean streets of Washington, D.C. A relentlessly entertaining debut!” —Daniel Stashower, Edgar Award-winning author

Relentless has a gritty, timely plot, an intriguing protagonist who surprises, and an emotional depth that keeps you turning the pages as a different side of Washington, D.C. is revealed.” —Sherry Harris, author of Let’s Fake a Deal

“In Relentless, Shawn Wilson has introduced a memorable hero, a plethora of supporting characters, and a story full of twists and turns to keep any amateur detective or criminal enthusiast on his or her toes.” —BookTrib
Product Details
ISBN: 9781608095810
ISBN-10: 1608095819
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Publication Date: October 24th, 2023
Pages: 256
Language: English
Series: A Brick Kavanagh Mystery

by Dr. Radut